APPETITE FOR DISCUSSION
Welcome to Appetite for Discussion -- a Guns N' Roses fan forum!

Please feel free to look around the forum as a guest, I hope you will find something of interest. If you want to join the discussions or contribute in other ways then you need to become a member. We especially welcome anyone who wants to share documents for our archive or would be interested in translating or transcribing articles and interviews.

Registering is free and easy.

Cheers!
SoulMonster
APPETITE FOR DISCUSSION
Welcome to Appetite for Discussion -- a Guns N' Roses fan forum!

Please feel free to look around the forum as a guest, I hope you will find something of interest. If you want to join the discussions or contribute in other ways then you need to become a member. We especially welcome anyone who wants to share documents for our archive or would be interested in translating or transcribing articles and interviews.

Registering is free and easy.

Cheers!
SoulMonster

2023.12.02 - Las Vegas Review-Journal - Slash cuts loose at Las Vegas dive bar reopening

Go down

2023.12.02 - Las Vegas Review-Journal - Slash cuts loose at Las Vegas dive bar reopening Empty 2023.12.02 - Las Vegas Review-Journal - Slash cuts loose at Las Vegas dive bar reopening

Post by Blackstar Tue 5 Dec 2023 - 3:51

Slash cuts loose at Las Vegas dive bar reopening

By John Katsilometes

To be cool is to act casually, and Frankie Sidoris is a cool cat. The brilliant rock guitarist could have shouted his plans across the night. He might have rolled in some extra floodlights, strobes, set off fireworks, taken on a Bruce Buffer persona to really blow out the scene.

Instead, with scant ceremony, Sidoris brought out his buddy Slash late Saturday night at the reopening of Hard Hat Lounge.

Wearing a backward Tower Records hat and 1980 AC/DC Highway to Hell concert T-shirt, the Guns N’ Roses icon strode to the stage along with the rest of the band — Sidoris, tireless Vegas vocalist Franky Perez, bassist Todd Morse of The Offspring and Brent Fitz (who has backed Slash, Gene Simmons, Alice Cooper and Vince Neil) on drums.

This was the rock roster for the reopening of Sidoris’ mighty dive bar at 1675 Industrial Road. Sidoris kept his plans from the general public, but Slash’s participation was not a complete surprise. Sidoris has for years played with Slash Ft. Myles Kennedy and The Conspirators. The Vegas native has toggled that band with Wolfgang Van Halen’s Mammoth WVH.

The Hard Hat all-star band took the stage at about 11:30 p.m., tearing through Led Zeppelin’s “Immigrant Song,” Guns N’ Roses’ “It’s So Easy,” “Always on the Run” by Lenny Kravitz, “War Pigs,” by Black Sabbath, and “Highway to Hell,” honoring (incidentally) Slash’s attire.

Vegas singer-songwriter-musician Sherry St. Germain, whom we met in 2009 during her days in “Viva Elvis” at Aria, and Drew Johnson and Anthony Stasi from Rolling Stones tribute band Sin City Stones also took the stage, performing on “Gimme Shelter.”

Industry jazz nights are Mondays, karaoke parties on Wednesdays, DJs on Fridays and Saturdays. Have some fun with the burgers, is the idea.

Sidoris’ family was well-represented. His mother, original “Crazy Girls” cast member Angela Stabile and her hubby, Matt Stabile; and his sister, Tiffany Stabile, all of Stabile Productions; and his father, Resorts World casino pro Frank Sidoris were all near the front of the stage.

Sidoris told the crowd he wanted to create a place where casino employees, entertainers, and hospitality workers could stop and unwind. Just after the show, he was off again, a date with Mammoth WVH at the Knitting Factory in Spokane.

But Sidoris left with a parting shot. “The Hard Hat is for locals. This is for Las Vegas,” said the rocking entrepreneur, having created a historic night at a historic site.







https://www.reviewjournal.com/entertainment/entertainment-columns/kats/slash-cuts-loose-at-las-vegas-dive-bar-reopening-2958119/
Blackstar
Blackstar
ADMIN

Posts : 12995
Plectra : 84910
Reputation : 97
Join date : 2018-03-17

Back to top Go down

2023.12.02 - Las Vegas Review-Journal - Slash cuts loose at Las Vegas dive bar reopening Empty Re: 2023.12.02 - Las Vegas Review-Journal - Slash cuts loose at Las Vegas dive bar reopening

Post by Blackstar Tue 5 Dec 2023 - 3:57

Blabbermouth, same date:
----------------------------------

Slash Performs Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath Classics At Hard Hat Lounge Re-Opening In Las Vegas

Slash (Guns N' Roses), Frank Sidoris (Slash Featuring Myles Kennedy And The Conspirators), Franky Perez (Apocalyptica, Deadland Ritual), Todd Morse (The Offspring) and Brent Fitz (Slash Featuring Myles Kennedy And The Conspirators) are among the musicians who performed at the Hard Hat Lounge's "re-re-opening" on Friday, December 1 in Las Vegas, Nevada. They reportedly ran at least one GUNS N' ROSES classic ("It's So Easy") and performed a few covers, including "Immigrant Song" (Led Zeppelin), "War Pigs" (Black Sabbath), "Highway To Hell" (AC/DC) and "Always On The Run" (Lenny Kravitz). Joining them for a cover of The Rolling Stones' "Gimme Shelter" were Vegas singer-songwriter-musician Sherry St. Germain and Drew Johnson and Anthony Stasi from Stones tribute band Sin City Stones.

Sidoris, who is also a member of Mammoth WVH, owns the iconic dive bar, which closed for renovations earlier this year.

Last month, when the block party was first announced, Sidoris said in a statement: "We are thrilled to re-re-open with a refresh under the hood. We kept the 1960s charm without the grime, and for the first time in 60 years, Hard Hat has new plumbing, floors, and more importantly, a new, fresh scent! We cannot wait to reopen our doors and have the community back in to enjoy."

The venue's re-re-opening saw the introduction of partner Stay Tuned Burgers.

"Three years ago, I began my research by tasting all sorts of smash burgers in L.A., which inspired me to perfect my own version in my hometown of Vegas," said Bobby Meader, founder of Stay Tuned Burgers. "Partnering with Frank at Hard Hat was naturally a perfect fit! I am so excited to bring my hand-ground meat burgers to complement the brews at this iconic bar."

Hard Hat opened as a diner in 1962 and the mural on the wall behind the bar reportedly dates to that year.

Hard Hat is located at 1675 S Industrial Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89102. It will be open from noon to 2 a.m. Sundays through Thursdays, and noon to 3 a.m. Fridays and Saturdays.



https://blabbermouth.net/news/watch-slash-performs-led-zeppelin-black-sabbath-classics-at-hard-hat-lounge-re-opening-in-las-vegas
Blackstar
Blackstar
ADMIN

Posts : 12995
Plectra : 84910
Reputation : 97
Join date : 2018-03-17

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum