APPETITE FOR DISCUSSION
Welcome to Appetite for Discussion -- a Guns N' Roses fan forum!

Please feel free to look around the forum as a guest, I hope you will find something of interest. If you want to join the discussions or contribute in other ways then you need to become a member. We especially welcome anyone who wants to share documents for our archive or would be interested in translating or transcribing articles and interviews.

Registering is free and easy.

Cheers!
SoulMonster
APPETITE FOR DISCUSSION
Welcome to Appetite for Discussion -- a Guns N' Roses fan forum!

Please feel free to look around the forum as a guest, I hope you will find something of interest. If you want to join the discussions or contribute in other ways then you need to become a member. We especially welcome anyone who wants to share documents for our archive or would be interested in translating or transcribing articles and interviews.

Registering is free and easy.

Cheers!
SoulMonster

2014.06.04 - Daily Star - Slash Previews New Album 'World on Fire' At Houses Of Parliament In London

Go down

2014.06.04 - Daily Star - Slash Previews New Album 'World on Fire' At Houses Of Parliament In London Empty 2014.06.04 - Daily Star - Slash Previews New Album 'World on Fire' At Houses Of Parliament In London

Post by Blackstar Fri Apr 29, 2022 11:38 am

Slash previews new album 'World on Fire' at Houses of Parliament in London

SOMEBODY call a general election -guitar hero Slash is here to save British politics with rock ‘n’ roll.

By James Cabooter

The Mop haired legend invaded London’s Houses Of Parliament to preview his new album World On Fire this week.

He and cohort Myles Kennedy reckon a little hard rock can help cure the world’s problems.

From inside Westminster, Brit born Slash told me: “It’s surreal being here, but I’m a believer that this brand of rock ‘n’ roll should be about elevating the stress and worry of politics.

“World On Fire is a metaphor for a lot of different things, one of them being the current state of global affairs.”

The hard rocking collection - out October 13- is arguably the former Guns N’ Roses man’s most diverse yet.

After MPs rocked out to an acoustic performance featuring Sweet Child O Mine singer Myles, 44, explained: “There are a lot of different peaks and valleys, plus old school elements with the some of the feel and riffs too.”

Slash and his bandmates Myles Kennedy and The Conspirators embark on their biggest arena tour yet in November an December.

Slash real name Saul, 48, promised: “We like to play hard and just be a band.

“I hate bands that have to resort to visual gimmicks and stage props in order told hold anybody’s attention just because it’s a big room.”

The days of excess are all but over for smoke and booze free Slash, almost.

“We still roll pretty hard,” he smirked. “Yeah it’s mellower than 20 years ago, we try to stay as healthy as possible.”

So is it up to pop acts to keep flying the flag for rock ‘n’ roll - like Miley Cyrus?

“She’s pretty irritating,” Slash hissed. “Our excesses are performing, five or six nights a week.”

One thing they aren’t convinced by is Metallica playing a mainstream fest like Glastonbury.

Slash said: “There’s eclectic festivals with a mish-mash of music and I appreciate that, we played Glasto a few years ago, it was interesting.

“But when Metallica comes in you can’t have them come on after f**king Katy Perry.

“It should be a Metallica type festival.”

Another thing that gets his goat are dead stars being dug up for profit, like pal Michael Jackson who reappeared as a hologram.

“There should have something in your will which says: ‘I will not allow my outtakes to be released or my image to be used as a hologram’,” Slash deadpanned.

“If you have a contract you know you can rest in peace.”

Slash’s pal Duff McKagen, 50, rejoined Guns N’ Roses recently for a number of shows leading to speculation he might be next.

“It really isn’t that big a deal,” he said. “Duff told me he was going to fill in for what’s his name.

“It’s a different dynamic than my relationship with ‘Guns or Axl, I don’t let them worry me.”

Grab World On Fire early as a special Fanpack edition of Classic Rock magazine from September 15.

https://www.dailystar.co.uk/showbiz/slash-previews-new-album-world-18731802
Blackstar
Blackstar
ADMIN

Posts : 9132
Plectra : 62210
Reputation : 97
Join date : 2018-03-17

Back to top Go down

2014.06.04 - Daily Star - Slash Previews New Album 'World on Fire' At Houses Of Parliament In London Empty Re: 2014.06.04 - Daily Star - Slash Previews New Album 'World on Fire' At Houses Of Parliament In London

Post by Blackstar Fri Apr 29, 2022 12:02 pm

Metal Sucks, June 11, 2014:
-----------------------------------

Slash is a Huge Fan of Current Guns N’ Roses Bassist Tommy Stinson

By Axl Rosenberg

Former Guns N’ Roses guitarist Slash recently gave an interview to the UK’s Daily Star, and, of course, they asked him what he thought about the fact that Duff McKagan recently re-joined that band for a spate of shows. The Mop-Haired One’s response?

“It really isn’t that big a deal. Duff told me he was going to fill in for what’s his name.”

“What’s his name,” of course, is current GN’R bassist Tommy Stinson. And given Stinson’s status as a founding member of The Replacements and a successful session musician, Slash’s remark is pretty insulting.

But it’s also pretty goddamn funny. I dunno if Slash did it on purpose to be insulting or he sincerely blanked on Stinson’s name. Either way, I laughed.

Two funny side-notes:

1) Stinson has been a member of Guns N’ Roses for sixteen years now… which is five more years of putting up with Axl Rose than Slash was able to handle.

2) Slash is probably thinking “Fuck that guy, all he does is cover my songs!” But Slash has (most likely unwittingly) covered one of Stinson’s songs, too! Because Stinson actually helped write this radio hit (and is even in the video for)…



…which Slash has performed live:



It’s a small world after all.

https://www.metalsucks.net/2014/06/11/slash-huge-fan-current-guns-n-roses-bassist-tommy-stinson/
Blackstar
Blackstar
ADMIN

Posts : 9132
Plectra : 62210
Reputation : 97
Join date : 2018-03-17

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum